Waiting for Dr. Verdier

Waiting for Dr.Verdier

 

By EMMA PALOVA

 

In the spirit of 101 Challenge: The Commons I wanted to write about finding your feature niche II for your blog yesterday. I wanted to thank everybody for participating in the challenge yesterday. I wanted to write about the month of May being the mental health awareness month and my friend CEO of Ionia County Community Mental Health (ICCMH). I wanted to do everything yesterday.

 

But destiny wanted something else.

Waiting

Waiting

 

I can hardly see the screen. Yesterday, I couldn’t see at all. I couldn’t write. The screen was dipped in a faraway 3=D mist. Google was floating somewhere in a distance.

I barely made it back home from town with my medication as I couldn’t see the oncoming cars.

I went to see the eye doctor this morning. Eyes are the second most precious asset that I have.

“What brings you here on a Friday,” asks the eye doc.

“I couldn’t see yesterday, it was creepy,” I said.

The eye doc conducts a thorough exam and says:

“Putting something in front of the foggy lens is not going to solve your problem,” he said. “You have cataracts in both eyes at a young age. It’s very progressive.”

“Does it run in the family?”

“Most definitely,” he said.

“I need to see Dr.Verdier,” I said.

“You know him,” asks the eye doc looking at me through his spectacles.

“I wrote about him,” I said. “He travels around the world fixing eyes.”

“Did you write that article about him on the Orbitz plane,”asks the eye doc.

“I did.”

“Then you know he’s worth waiting for,” says the eye doc.

 

The first consult appointment with Dr. Verdier is on Aug. 22. I still have to write. I have a book deal in the making, but I need to see.

 

Copyright © story and photo by Emma Palova

Leave a Reply

